Skip to main content

GDCB Committees for 2023-24

Executive Committee

GDCB Committees

(Committee elects a chair: 5 faculty members at the rank of associate professor or above, including chairs of the Curriculum and the Promotion and Tenure committees)

  • Jeff Essner (Chair)
  • Diane Bassham (Promotion and Tenure Committee Chair)
  • Karri Haen Whitmer (Curriculum Committee Chair)
  • Mohan Gupta
  • Don Sakaguchi

Promotion and Tenure Committee

(5-6 tenured members, including at least 3 full professors and the peer teaching coordinator)

  • Diane Bassham (Chair)
  • Jeff Essner
  • Xun Gu
  • Geetu Tuteja
  • Erik Vollbrecht
  • Marna Yandeau-Nelson

Term Faculty Advancement Committee (AC)

(3-5 faculty members include associate chair/Curriculum Committee chair, 1 PTC member and 1 term faculty at associate professor or above) 

  • Karri Haen Whitmer
  • Hala Bastawros
  • Don Sakaguchi

Curriculum Committee

(Chair plus members of undergraduate program committees and peer teaching coordinators)

  • Karri Haen Whitmer (Chair)
  • Biology Program Committee: GDCB representatives
    Don Sakaguchi (Biology/Genetics Director), Karri Haen Whitmer, Carly Manz and Lauren Ramos (Biology advising staff)
  • Genetics Major Committee: GDCB representatives
    Don Sakaguchi (Biology/Genetics Director), Karri Haen Whitmer, and Alison Esser (Genetics advising staff)
  • Biology and Genetics Undergraduate Scholarship Committee: GDCB representatives Carly Manz (co-chair); Jelena Kraft (member); Alison Esser (genetics advising staff); Lauren Ramos (biology advising staff)
  • BCBio Supervisory Committee: GDCB representatives Karin Dorman, Geetu Tuteja and Alison Esser (BCBio advising staff)
  • Peer Teaching Coordinators: Hua Bai and Renu Srivastava

Graduate Affairs Committee

  • Hua Bai (Chair)
  • Xun Gu
  • Danise Jones (staff)

Honors and Awards Committee

(5 faculty, 1 staff and 1 graduate student)

  • Mohan Gupta (Chair)
  • Hala Bastawros
  • Xun Gu
  • Eric Henderson
  • Danise Jones (staff)
  • Xiaoyi [Chelsea] Cheng (graduate student representative)

Seminar Committee

(8 faculty, 1 staff and 1 graduate student)

  • Jeff Essner (Chair)
  • Kyaw (Joe) Aung
  • Clyde Campbell
  • Raquel Espin Palazon
  • Hongqing (Michelle) Guo
  • Dior Kelley
  • Ankur Kumar (graduate student representative)
  • Danise Jones (staff)
  • Zhongpeng Li (postdoc)

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

(2-3 faculty, 1 staff and 1-2 graduate students)

  • Marna Yandeau-Nelson (Chair; CALS representative)
  • Sayali Kukday (Co-chair; LAS representative)
  • Shobhana Ghimire (staff)
  • Abesh Bera (graduate student representative)
  • Zakayo Kazibwe (graduate student representative)
  • Vaishali Todi (graduate student representative)

Communications Team

  • Eric Henderson (Chair)
  • Danise Jones (Staff)
  • Abbigail McCune (graduate student representative)

College and University Committee Representatives

Faculty Senate: Maura McGrail

LAS Representative: Don Sakaguchi

LAS Faculty Awards Committee: Diane Bassham (Chair)

LAS Honors Committee: Geetu Tuteja

GDCB Representative on LAS Diversity and Inclusion Committee: Sayali Kukday

GDCB Representative on CALS Diversity and Inclusion Committee: Marna Yandeau-Nelson

GDCB Representative on CALS Curriculum Committee: Karri Haen Whitmer

GDCB Representative on CALS Academic Affairs Committee: Erik Vollbrecht

Data Science Curriculum Committee: Carolyn Lawrence-Dill

GDCB Lab Safety Contact: Erica Unger-Wallace

GDCB Representative on the Bessey Core Research Facility Committee: Mohan Gupta

Library Liaison: Erica Unger-Wallace

LAS Representative of Office of Biotechnology Council: Yanhai Yin